government districts which perform the same general functions as municipalities. They are administered by administrators who act, in most districts, on the advice of elected councils, but are subject to the final authority of the minister of municipal affairs.

In Manitoba, the capital city of Winnipeg and 11 surrounding municipalities, after 12 years under the partial central authority of the Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg, were amalgamated into a single city in January 1972. Saskatchewan has 12 cities, 143 towns, 323 villages, 32 resort villages, 2 northern towns, 10 northern villages, 14 northern hamlets and 299 rural municipalities. Administration of the 10 northern settlements is provided by the province with the advice of local advisory committees.

Although Regina is the capital of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon is slightly larger in population.

Alberta has 16 cities, 108 towns, 172 villages, 20 municipal districts and 30 counties. The counties administer schools in addition to municipal services. There are 19 improvement districts and three special areas administered by the Special Areas Board,

Edmonton, the capital, was incorporated in 1904. Calgary was founded in 1875 by the mounted police and incorporated as a city in 1893.

British Columbia. In 1967, the government of British Columbia instituted regional government.

By January 1972, 28 regional districts had been established. These regional districts are assuming responsibility for certain services from municipalities within their boundaries as well as providing services to previously unorganized areas. There are 35 cities, 13 towns, 48 villages and 46 districts. Districts are mostly rural although some adjacent to the principal cities of Vancouver and Victoria are largely urban in character. Unincorporated local districts have been set up to provide certain municipal services.

Victoria, the capital, on the southeastern tip of Vancouver Island, was incorporated in 1862. The largest city, Vancouver, was incorporated in 1886.

Yukon. There are two cities, one town, four villages, one hamlet and eight unorganized communities in Yukon. The cities, towns and villages have full municipal status and are responsible for their own taxation and administration. The Yukon government provides municipal services to the unorganized communities. The seat of government was moved from Dawson City to Whitehorse in 1953.

Northwest Territories includes one city, five towns, two villages, 30 hamlets and 14 settlements. The hamlets, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Yellowknife on the north arm of Great Slave Lake was named the capital in 1967.

Sources

- 19.1 19.4 Machinery of Government, Privy Council Office; Journals Branch, House of Commons; Law Branch, The Senate; Elections Canada.
- 19.5.1 Communications Division, Treasury Board; Public Affairs Directorate, Public Service Commission; Communications Division, Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.
- 19.5.2 Machinery of Government, Privy Council Office.
- 19.5.3 Communications Division, Treasury Board.
- 19.6 Provincial and territorial governments.
- 19.7 Public Institutions Division, Statistics Canada; provincial and territorial governments.